Photo by Linda meelin, CC BY-SA 4.0.

Photo by Linda Meelin, CC BY-SA 4.0.

Update: this year’s Nobel Peace Prize laureate is Juan Manuel Santos, the current President of Columbia. Wikipedians are updating articles in 51 languages.

On Friday, October 7, this year’s winner of the Nobel Peace Prize will be announced. At the same time, Wikipedians around the world will gather for #Wikinobel 2016—a collaborative effort to ensure that as many Wikipedias as possible have an article on this year’s Peace Prize laureate.

The Peace Prize has been awarded annually in most years since December 1901, given to people who have “done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses.”

Wikimedia Norway will be on hand at the Nobel Peace Center in Oslo to help live-tweet and photograph the announcement from @WikimediaNorge.

“The Nobel Peace Center is the museum dedicated to the Nobel Peace Prize, but we are also an information hub,” said Liv Tørres, the Executive Director of the Nobel Peace Center. “Our building in Oslo and our employees are full of facts and information about the Nobel Peace Prize, the Peace Prize Laureates, and their work.  Our mission is to spread this knowledge, both to our visitors and to the world around us.”

“With its widespread range and idea of sharing knowledge, Wikipedia is a perfect partner for us in that mission. That is why it is such a pleasure for us, for the third year in a row, to welcome Wikimedia to us on the most important day in the Nobel year: the announcement of the new Nobel Peace Prize laureate.”

Last year, the Nobel Peace Prize was given to the Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet, a group of organizations—unknown to many in the west—that were central in the attempts to build a pluralistic democracy in Tunisia in the wake of the Jasmine Revolution of 2011. Within one hour of the announcement last year, 15 Wikipedia articles were written. Today, there is an article in 46 languages.

The 2016 Peace Prize announcement will be made at 11am in Oslo (2:30pm Indian, 5pm Hong Kong, 2am Pacific, 5am Eastern, 9am UTC) on October 7. Join #Wikinobel and, as Tørres puts it, “get immersed in the fascinating topic of the world’s most prestigious prize.”

Liv Tørres, Executive Director, Nobel Peace Center
Astrid Carlsen, Executive Director, Wikimedia Norway
Ed Erhart, Editorial Associate, Wikimedia Foundation