Wikimedia blog

News from the Wikimedia Foundation and about the Wikimedia movement

Wikimedia Foundation opting out of Phorm

After some internal discussion on whether opting out of the Phorm user-profiling system in the UK would legitimize it, we’re going ahead and requesting an opt-out for all the domains under the Wikimedia Foundation’s control:

Subject: Phorm opt-out for Wikipedia.org and related domains
Date: Thu, 16 Apr 2009 14:28:11 -0700
From: Brion Vibber <brion@wikimedia.org>
To: website-exclusion@webwise.com
CC: private-l@lists.wikimedia.org

To whom it may concern --

The Wikimedia Foundation requests that our web sites including
Wikipedia.org and all related domains be excluded from scanning by the
Phorm / BT Webwise system, as we consider the scanning and profiling of
our visitors' behavior by a third party to be an infringement on their
privacy.

Here is a list of our domains which should be excluded (please exclude
any and all subdomains as well):

wikipedia.org
wikipedia.com
wikipedia.co.uk
wikipedia.cz
wikipedia.fr
wikipedia.info
wikipedia.lt
wikipedia.net
wikipedia.nl
wikipedia.org.br
mediawiki.com
mediawiki.org
quickipedia.net
quickipedia.org
toolserver.org
vikipedio.com
vikipedio.org
wikibook.com
wikibooks.com
wikibooks.cz
wikibooks.org
wikicitaty.cz
wikidata.org
wikidisclosure.com
wikidisclosure.org
wikidruhy.cz
wikifamily.com
wikifamily.org
wikigis.com
wikigis.org
wikijunior.com
wikijunior.net
wikijunior.org
wikiknihy.cz
wikimania2006.org
wikimania2007.org
wikimaps.com
wikimaps.net
wikimediacommons.co.uk
wikimediacommons.de
wikimediacommons.eu
wikimediacommons.info
wikimediacommons.mobl
wikimediacommons.net
wikimediacommons.org
wikimedia.cz
wikimediafoundation.com
wikimediafoundation.net
wikimediafoundation.org
wikimedia.hu
wikimedia.li
wikimedia.lt
wikimedia.org
wikimedia.pl
wikimedia.se
wikimedia.us
wikimemory.org
wikimorial.com
wikimorial.org
wikinews.org
wikipaedia.net
wikipedie.cz
wikiquote.com
wikiquote.cz
wikiquote.net
wikiquote.org
wikislovnik.cz
wikisource.com
wikisource.cz
wikisource.org
wikispecies.com
wikispecies.cz
wikispecies.net
wikispecies.org
wikiversity.com
wikiversity.cz
wikiversity.org
wikiverzita.cz
wikizdroje.cz
wikizpravy.cz
wiktionary.com
wiktionary.cz
wiktionary.org

Thank you for your time.

-- brion vibber (brion @ wikimedia.org)
CTO, Wikimedia Foundation
San Francisco
+1 (415) 839-6885

Received autoreply:

Subject: 	Publisher Exclusion Request Autoreply
Date: 	Thu, 16 Apr 2009 14:28:30 -0700
From: 	website-exclusion 
To: 	Brion Vibber 

Thank you for your submission to the Phorm website exclusion list. If
there are no obvious grounds to doubt the legitimacy of the request the
URL will be blocked as soon as possible, usually within 48 hours.

Requests must be made by the legitimate owner of the domain. If we have
questions regarding your domain Phorm may take a number of steps,
including attempting to contact the domain administrator by email for
confirmation of this request. If the request remains questionable and is
not confirmed within 10 days, the URL will be removed from the exclusion
list and an email will be sent informing you of this decision.

Where applicable, please ensure that the Administrative Contact details
for this domain are up to date. If you need to update them, please
resubmit your request when the amended details are visible in the WhoIs
database - (use a public whois service such as
_http://who.godaddy.com/whoischeck.aspx_ if you are unsure it has been
updated)

22 Responses to “Wikimedia Foundation opting out of Phorm”

    1 2
  1. Morosoph says:

    It might, additionally be a good idea to block Phorm servers using htaccess, since a ‘passive’ record of visited pages will, most likely, be kept, even if it doesn’t inform their algorithm.

    Sample htaccess files can be found at dephormation https://dephormation.org.uk/index.php?page=7; more options (such as php blocking) can be pulled down from their ‘server-side’ menu.

  2. warescouse says:

    Fantastic news

  3. Pete says:

    Phorm is a parasitic disgrace to the UK, and a blight on the creative efforts of all those who make the internet the valuable information resource it is.

    Thanks for supporting the campaign to stop it.

    There is a petition to the Prime Minister here;
    http://petitions.number10.gov.uk/dataprofiling/

  4. Martin says:

    Well done and thank you. The UK web community will be grateful.

    Prepare to be scraped. Check your logs.

  5. Lvova says:

    Can you repeat it with wikipedia.ru?..

  6. JHorb says:

    Thank you. I hope others will follow suit.

  7. Joanne says:

    Brilliant news. The sooner these parasites are gone the better.

  8. William says:

    Well done Wikipedia. Well done Brian. Exactly what your readers, donors and contributors wanted to see you do. Thanks.

  9. phormaverse says:

    Don’t forget – it isn’t just BT Webwise who are operating this horrible stuff – there is Korea Telecom with Smartweb, which is just another Phorm incarnation – and there may be others (including Virgin Media and TalkTalk in the UK). Watch your website logs very carefully for evidence of scraping after you have made this request – some people have suggested that Phorm IPV4 Assignment IP addresses are allegedly STILL crawling their sites even after requesting them not to.

  10. Norbi says:

    >#5 by Lvova – April 17th, 2009 at 07:20
    >
    >Can you repeat it with wikipedia.ru?..

    The Wikimedia Foundation is not concerned with “wikipedia.ru”

  11. David Gerard says:

    Wikimedia can only do this for domains it directly controls. There are a lot of wikipedia.* domains which aren’t under the direct control of the Wikimedia Foundation, for assorted historical reasons. (This is getting sorted out slowly.) So the registered contacts for those domains will need to send opt-outs separately.

    This is why opting-out is fundamentally flawed.

  12. Weo says:

    I have requested exclusion of my domains too, and I’m encouraging everyone I know to do it too.

  13. Louise Ferguson says:

    Excellent news, Wikipedia. Opting out is indeed fundamentally flawed, but it is all that we have right now.

  14. Lvova says:

    Norbi :
    >#5 by Lvova – April 17th, 2009 at 07:20
    >
    >Can you repeat it with wikipedia.ru?..
    The Wikimedia Foundation is not concerned with “wikipedia.ru”

    and what, and do not want to have any relationship?

  15. Norbi says:

    Lvova :

    Norbi :
    >#5 by Lvova – April 17th, 2009 at 07:20
    >
    >Can you repeat it with wikipedia.ru?..
    The Wikimedia Foundation is not concerned with “wikipedia.ru”

    and what, and do not want to have any relationship?

    The respective owner of this domain has to request the opt-out personally.

    Just as David Gerard wrote:

    David Gerard :
    Wikimedia can only do this for domains it directly controls. There are a lot of wikipedia.* domains which aren’t under the direct control of the Wikimedia Foundation, for assorted historical reasons. (This is getting sorted out slowly.) So the registered contacts for those domains will need to send opt-outs separately.
    This is why opting-out is fundamentally flawed.

    You may wish to try to find out the owner of any website, by performing an whois lookup and then you could ask him or her to request the opt-out.

    This site may be helpful ;)
    http://www.nic.ru/whois/?hint=wikipedia.ru&query=wikipedia.ru

    By the way… “ru.wikipedia.org” is already included in Brions request, because it’s a subdomain of wikipedia.org.

  16. Midnight_Voice says:

    Nice action, and praiseworthy, but your “we consider the scanning and profiling of our visitors’ behavior by a third party to be an infringement on their privacy” isn’t a good reason for it, I’m afraid.

    Those visitors will all independently have chosen to be scanned and profiled by Phorm (assuming that the ICO will successfully insist on Phorm being Opt-In, as it has said it must – though this may be a big assume).

    This being so, it’s not for Wikipedia to deny them that ‘privilege’.

    But it *is* for Wikipedia to deny Phorm the right to profile Wikipedia’s responses; and this is what you have done, and more power to your elbow.

    So, must Phorm get details of the requests those visitors make to Wikipedia?

    No; you can go one step further, and prevent this. In order to operate, Phorm has to create a cookie on the user’s machine that purports to come from Wikipedia.

    If you feel that this would be an act of forgery, of ‘passing off’ as it is called in the UK, or a copyright infringement, or a breach by a third party of Wikipedia’s cookie policy, then you should let Phorm know, in the strongest possible terms, that this will not be tolerated, and will be opposed by recourse to law if it is found to be happening.

    You should also know, apropos of this, that if Phorm do use your Wikipedia name in breach of copyright or trademark registration, and you become aware of it, then failure to defend it as above prejudices your exclusive rights to it.

    I am not a lawyer, but I am sure you have one; please put the above to them if you are unsure if I am correct or not in this matter.

  17. Nick says:

    This is great news. Thank you Wiki for thinking about the users first.

  18. Charles says:

    Thanks very much Wikipedia for helping UK internet users. Most appreciated.

  19. Bawolff says:

    Shouldn’t that be wikimediacommons.mobi not wikimediacommons.mobl ?

  20. John den Haan says:

    Well-done!